# Town of North Stonington, CT HEWITT FARM COMMITTEE

#### **REGULAR MEETING MINUTES**

Monday, April 8, 2019 at 4:30p.m. New Town Hall Conference Room

The regular meeting of the Hewitt Farm Committee was called to order by Chairman Ed Harasimowitz at 4:33 p.m. in the New Town Hall Conference Room with members Nita Kincaid, Jack Brown, Ellie Banker, Brian Banker and Deirdre Tavares (serving as Recording Secretary). Also in attendance was Dick Seager and Jim Cowen.

#### 1. Monarch Butterfly Waystation Update - Jim Cowen

Jim Cowen presented his plan related to the areas he recommends should be designated as waystation for the monarch butterflies. Jim will display stakes for his outline prior to the Hewitt Farm committee walking the area to review his proposal. Current trails will remain intact and the meadow will be mowed once a year.

The committee will apply for the monarch certification with the Monarch Waystation Registry. They will supply one sign with the certification. The project process and progress will be recorded and reviewed in April 2020.

#### 2. 1750 House Historical Society Proposal - Dick Seager

Dick reviewed grant options and the criteria and constraints around them: Matching Grant - \$100,000 and a Study Grant - \$5,000. We are currently not a Certified Local Government (CLG) State.

Provided a history on the Gallup Family.

Discussed potential utilization of the house and artifacts which could be housed there for public viewing.

#### 3. <u>1750 House Repair Priorities</u>

Areas in need of repair identified. Nita to contact Donny Hill.

## 4. Green Gables Maintenance

Green Gable main area needs to be leveled.

## 5. <u>Dick Cooper Plaque Installation</u>

Ed to review the stone pillar for potential plaque installation

# 6. Member Updates on Projects & Any Additional Items for Group

N/A

# 7. Approval of 2/25/2019 and 3/18/2019 Meeting Minutes

Minutes were approved

#### 8. Public Comments

N/A

## 9. Date and Priorities for Next Meeting

April 29<sup>th</sup>, 2019 Review April 8<sup>th</sup>, 2019 meeting minutes

Respectfully submitted Deirdre Tavares