Sustainability Committee

Mission Summary and Guidelines

Status of Committee: ad hoc

Objective: To help direct efforts of the community towards the vision embraced by Sustainable CT, notably to be thriving, resilient, collaborative, and forward-looking.


  • Promoting the adoption of and advocating the benefits of sustainability across all sectors of the community including residents, businesses, and other organizations.
  • Serving as a resource for municipal departments, boards, commissions, and other committees regarding sustainability and resiliency challenges and opportunities.
  • To establish, document and maintain a set of short-term and long-term goals, which are to be reviewed and updated annually as needed.

Mission: To support the cultural fabric of the community and the local economy while promoting the health and well-being of current and future residents, and respecting the finite capacity of the natural environment.

Membership: Shall consist of 13 volunteers who have an interest in at least one of the following areas which comprise the principal action categories of Sustainable CT. Minority representation rules apply to membership as described under CGS § 9-167a. Each member shall be a resident of the Town, and should be interested in one or more of the following:

  • Inclusive and Equitable Community Impacts
  • Thriving Local Economies
  • Well-Stewarded Land and Natural Resources
  • Vibrant and Creative Cultural Ecosystems
  • Dynamic and Resilient Planning
  • Clean and Diverse Transportation Systems and Choices
  • Renewable and Efficient Energy Infrastructure and Operations
  • Inclusive Engagement, Communication and Education
  • Strategic Materials Management
  • Optimal Health and Wellness Opportunities
  • Healthy, Efficient and Diverse Housing
  • Effective, Compassionate Homelessness Prevention
  • Innovative Strategies and Practices

Timeframe: Ongoing

Suggested Frequency of Meeting: Bi-monthly, or as the committee determines.

Reporting Requirements: the committee shall report to the Board of Selectmen quarterly.

Initial Membership Requirement: community members (resident of North Stonington).

  1. Community member at large
  2. Community member at large
  3. Community member at large
  4. Community member at large
  5. Community member at large
  6. Community member at large
  7. Community member at large
  8. Community member at large
  9. Community member at large
  10. Community member at large
  11. Community member at large
  12. Community member at large
  13. Community member at large

Committee Members

Toula Balestracci



Craig Fasullo



Alexis Kahn



John Lindsey



Patricia Turner